complacency_header

Success breeds complacency, complacency breeds failure. Only the paranoid survive. – Andy Grove, CEO Intel

For the last few months, I’ve been battling a problem. A generally good problem but a problem non-the-less. Successs. See, I’m a simple man, I don’t need much. So it doesn’t take much to make me happy.  My businesses basically run themselves.  I play ice hockey 2-3 times a week.  We’ve moved into a nice 3 bedroom home with big backyard.  I splurged on upgrades to my home computer.  Life is great.  But that’s a problem.

Laziness and bad habits (eating, sleeping, drinking) have started creeping into my life.  The fire and drive that compelled me into this venture in the first place have dulled.  I’m not me. And I don’t like it.

Google “Complacency + Entrepreneurship” and you’ll get pages of results about this exact topic.  I have two takes on it.

1) It’s real.

I never thought of myself as the type of person that wouldn’t be motivated.  My entire life I have been described as a self-motivator, over-achiever, a go-getter. And now I’m writing an introspective blog post on complacency in no small part to try to find new motivation.  It’s put into perspective the enormous and insatiable drive that it would take to build a full fledged empire.

I thought the internal drive that I had would be enough.  It had sustained and compelled me to this point, what’s changed? This brings me to my second point.

2) People change.

January, 19th 2015 I turned 30 years old.  My wife is pregnant with a girl due in 8 days.  I’m not the same person I was when I started this journey.  And that’s not a bad thing. I’m happy. I’m content. I enjoy life.

Let’s put it out there very plainly, I’m not done. My vision, my goals, my dreams haven’t all been completed.  My life’s work isn’t finished.  But what’s interesting is that the motivating factors that pushed me to start marching towards my goals no longer hold as much importance.

The desire for money?  I have money, not a lot but enough. I suppose you can always have more.

What about my anti-establishment rebellious attitude to sticking it to the man?  It’s still there but I’m not a kid anymore.  I’m not a kid accomplishing adult things, I’m an adult accomplishing adult things.

Time passes, you grow up, your priorities change.  That’s life.

I need new motivation.  I have to find it. I’m not sure what it is yet, but there is one thing I can do – suffer more.  Life’s too cozy, I’m too content.  Let’s see how the following will help over the next few weeks:

  • Get out of the house.  Work from the gym, work at a Starbucks, work anywhere except my comfy, cozy, awesome home.
  • Exercise more.  Physical punishment in the form of exercise is the closest suffering I can get to without starving or being homeless.
  • Find new goals. Pretty much the theme of this post but it requires thought and contemplation.  I don’t expect to have the answer today but I do need to put the time into coming up with  one.

Stay tuned for updates and results.

 

